As the ostensible future of the Force, Daisy Ridley’s Rey has a large destiny to live up to in Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker. As the intergalactic saga closes its current chapter on December 20, the actress looked back on her journey and shared her feelings on the conclusion of her arc with Screen Rant.

I can’t believe this is coming to an end. This is crazy to me. My first one was Empire Strikes Back, and I thought that was the only Star Wars movie. I thought it ended really weird, and I was like 10 myself. 

“That’s bizarre.” But then I saw the rest, and I fell in love with it. Now your journey for Rey is seemingly complete. Are you happy with where the character ends up?

Daisy Ridley: You were like, “What’s going on?”

Throughout the course of Star Wars, and ever since Rey has been introduced, there’s always been speculation about the character’s backstory and history. For you as an actress ,and maybe even a fan, is it kind of fun to sit back and see people’s reaction on what may be real and what may not be real? Just the theories that are out there about Rey.

Daisy Ridley: Yes, fully. I think even doing the final scenes I have - be them alone or be them with other people - in my personal experience, I remember feeling really filled up with a really satisfying emotion. Like, it just felt really right. And watching it, I think it’s not a big showy ending. It’s just a beautiful, emotional thing that I think people will carry with them.

What has Rey been up to since The Last Jedi? Without any spoilers.

Daisy Ridley: The great thing was that the first time I saw the premiere, my publicist Heidi, my agent Hilda, and my lawyer Shelby were asking me questions, and I was saying the answer. And they’re like, “Nah, no.” I was like, “That’s actually the answer.” “No, no.”

It’s hilarious, because we have to keep so much hidden, when you’re actually honest and people don’t believe you. Like, “Okay…”

I know you’re satisfied with where Rey ends up in this movie. Is there any chance at all that you would still want to reprise this role, whether it be in a video game or Disney+ series? Or do you feel like you’re complete with the character and you can let it go?

Daisy Ridley: She’s been chillin’. Steady chillin’. Galaxy’s gone to wreck and ruin, and she’s like, “Hey guys!” She’s been training and sort of continuing this internal struggle. That has not gone away; it has intensified. She isn’t satisfied by what Kylo has told her, so she’s sort of struggling with that. We meet her mid-training, and then you see it play out more in real time. The struggles that she’s having and this drive she has to reconcile the questions that she has.

More: Watch the Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker Final Trailer

Daisy Ridley: I’m complete. I also think we’re already part of a video game, because John plays it and apparently I’m a great character. But the beauty of this is John and Oscar and Naomie, we’re all in it together. So, one without the other to me? It doesn’t really compute to me, because I’m like, “What would Rey be without Finn? What would Finn be without Poe?” That’s how I’ve always thought about it. So, no, I feel like this is a beautiful ending in this way.

  • Star Wars Episode IX: The Rise of Skywalker Release Date: 2019-12-20